Why do we remake films?

Kiani Hyde
3 min readOct 23, 2020

--

We have been making films since 1888, and I think there are still so many original ideas out there, so why are there so many remakes? Remakes are constantly happening, whether it be movies, games, tv shows, etc, they are everywhere. They can often be confused for reboots and adaptations. From the moment a remake is announced people have mixed thoughts about it; some love the idea, some hate it. There are days where I feel that all we are seeing at the movies are remakes. They may be an easy way for many companies to make money, but is it really the best way? If you remake a film there is already a built in audience to come see it. Companies find it an easier way to make a profit by producing a film at a lower price, they also find it as less of a risk than developing a new idea.

The original film is better most of the time, so why do we remake them? Maybe it’s because of the excitement leading up to it, or maybe it’s the lack of original ideas to build off of. When it comes time to see a remake all we do is compare it to the original and I think that’s why so many people end up disappointed. Audiences all have their own opinions on remakes and why they choose to watch them or not.

Can we over do remakes? What is the limit on the amount of times we can remake a movie? Over the last century Scrooge based on A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens has been remade 7 times, from the original in 1935’s Scrooge starring Seymour Hicks to 2009’s A Christmas Carol starring Jim Carrey. Other films that have been made multiple times include Robin Hood, and Oliver Twist.

On average a production company will wait 23 years before producing a remake. However, these gaps can be a lot larger before a new movie is made. The animated film Dumbo was originally made in 1941, and remade into a live action in 2019, this is a 78 year gap between films.

In my opinion, I am not a huge fan of remakes but I will watch them eventually. For example, when Disney announced the live adaptation remakes of Aladdin and The Lion King I was very hesitant to watch them because they were two movies I grew up with and have only watched them for the first time very recently. I wasn’t as hesitant to watch the Beauty and the Beast live action film, I’m not sure why because it was also a movie I grew up with and watched on repeat. I think remakes are a good way for companies to make money but I don’t think its the best way to go. I would like to see more original ideas.

References:

Verevis, C. (2005). Film remakes. Edinburgh University Press.

--

--